High School Big Program Changes, Looking For Advice!

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

May 4, 2016
I posted this is in the coaches room and it didn't seem to get much traction, so I thought I'd try here!

I am one of 3 coaches at the high school I graduated from. In the 4 years I was there as a student, we have never competed with more than 10 girls. We had our first "open gym" where we let anyone interested come to try out some basic stunts, jumps and tumbling and to our surprise we had 34 show up! Including 8 boys!

We as coaches were completely blown away at the turn out and are nervous/excited at what this could mean for our program. I am looking for advice on how to effectively manage a team this large, so I want to hear from those who have done it before. Some advice on how to best work with boys would be great too! My boyfriend (who I met in college cheer but who also has past experience with all-star) has stepped up and volunteered to help teach the boys how to safely stunt (both co-ed and 4-man).

I know it's still possible that 2 weeks could pass and when tryouts come around we're back down to under 15 and all-girl (based on grades and level of commitment). But I'd still like to be prepared as possible in case this ends up being our new reality.

let me hear your best advice for managing a large team/coed team!

I posted this is in the coaches room and it didn't seem to get much traction, so I thought I'd try here!

I am one of 3 coaches at the high school I graduated from. In the 4 years I was there as a student, we have never competed with more than 10 girls. We had our first "open gym" where we let anyone interested come to try out some basic stunts, jumps and tumbling and to our surprise we had 34 show up! Including 8 boys!