Coaching Age?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 16, 2012
I am a freshman in high school, and on the school varsity cheer team. But i also really am in need of a job, I was wondering if you can co-coach like a ymca rec team at my age? I was hopping to have it as a job since a girl my age is a gymnastics coach at the local Y. Thank you!

I'm 16 and have been wondering this same thing for about a year now. Didn't really ever occur to me to post it on here... lol!

If I were you I'd contact your local rec league before the start of next season and see if they need any teen coaches. It's a bit late to do it this year as the season has already started. By coaching Rec you'll gain enough experience to put together a resume and apply for a paid coaching position. Also contact the Y that your friend is at and see if they are even hiring coaches or if you can help teach a cheer specific tumbling class.

Keep in mind Varsity Cheer gets tough come comp season and coaching is a job you can't flake out on or miss because you are practicing for nationals. Money sounds good right now but being able to get good grades is more important in the long run.

I coached last year when I decided to take a break from cheer & I was 16. It was volunteer work, so no pay check. It was really time consuming like she said above. So make sure you're committed before you begin and make sure you're age eligible! Most places make you be 18.

If I were you I'd contact your local rec league before the start of next season and see if they need any teen coaches. It's a bit late to do it this year as the season has already started. By coaching Rec you'll gain enough experience to put together a resume and apply for a paid coaching position. Also contact the Y that your friend is at and see if they are even hiring coaches or if you can help teach a cheer specific tumbling class.