High School Drama In The Squad

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jun 22, 2011
Today at practice, we had a team meeting. There were girls crying, because @princessmackenzie had told them to not lean so much in a prep when we were practicing our pregame stunt. There was a huge blow up on the team, and it was Mackenzie and I vs. the team. They told us we were too bossy and that we were too critical and picky. I've been cheering for Allstars for four years now, and this is my third season on Varsity for high school; Mackenzie has been cheering since she could basically walk. This is her third year on Varsity as well. Since its someonthing we've both been doing for a long time, we really try to focus on the safety of the team. When we split into JV and Varsity at practices, our coaches tell the two of us to run our practice. Our school refuses to have captains, but it seems like we would be captains if we had them. Mackenzie and I taught 95% of the cheerleaders how to stunt. But now, if we say anyone does anything wrong, even if its put as nicely as "Hey Suzie, hold your butt up in your sponge, it'll make it alot easier for everyone in the group!", we get attitudes and tears. Does anyone else have a team that has a problem similar to this? We need help!

I know exactly what your talking about, except we have people trying to be coaches who shouldn't. We had to have a team meeting where we explained that we are all there to help and encourage eachother, but not to be mean and critisize rudely. We also explained that sometimes you gotta say something to help better the team! It stills becomes an issue for people sometimes though. And when people take it personally it gets hard... but I try and tell myself and the other girls that if someone tells you to fix something, they are just trying to help!