High School Hs Tumbling Practices

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 13, 2017
hello everyone! I am a new high school coach and have some questions about tumbling. I used to have a full when I was cheering. I had been in tumbling classes forever and because of that, I have been able to spot basic tumbling. If a girl has done the skill before and just needs reinforcement, I can spot it. However, I seem to be struggling spotting the girls who are trying something new. We are trying to hire an outside tumbling coach but I feel like it would be way more beneficial if I can do it myself. What should I do? How exactly can I become a stronger, better tumbling coach? Any suggestions?! :)

hello everyone! I am a new high school coach and have some questions about tumbling. I used to have a full when I was cheering. I had been in tumbling classes forever and because of that, I have been able to spot basic tumbling. If a girl has done the skill before and just needs reinforcement, I can spot it. However, I seem to be struggling spotting the girls who are trying something new. We are trying to hire an outside tumbling coach but I feel like it would be way more beneficial if I can do it myself. What should I do? How exactly can I become a stronger, better tumbling coach? Any suggestions?! :)

Teach from the ground up.

Cheerleading myth: there's no tumbling skill that exists prior to the back handspring.

fact: there's about 10 things a kid should master before they THINK about a backhandspring. If learned in proper progression the need to be spotted is minimal.