Is 20 Too Old For All Star?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 2, 2016
Hello my name is Desha! I'm 20 and a college student I've always wanted to be involved with all star cheer but could never afford it growing up, so now that I'm an adult and most of my schooling is currently paid for I've decided to venture out and live life with no regrets I found an ioc5 team about 1.5 hours away from my college which is very affordable and I think I'm going to take a leap of faith and tryout this September. Now here's a little more information.
1. I've had 3 years of cheer experience (high school & community college)
2. I'm 5'7 120 lbs and was always a backspot
3. As almost every cheerleader says I WANT TO FLY (coed at least)

My main questions are
1. Am I too old to start this sport now?
2. I'm looking into transferring schools next year to TCU so I'm looking at switching gyms possibly to Cheer Athletics or SOT
So would it be smarter to tryout for a team and if I make it compete for a year then stay or switch (depending on if I transfer) or should I just continue to take my tumbling/stretching/tumbling classes instead?
4. I know with younger teams there really is a level for everyone but as an "adult" athlete I feel like I'll be really behind all the other athletes who have been cheering for years.

And one last question to any collegiate cheerleaders I've thought about cheering in college obviously because I'd get to do what I love and it could be covered by the school but I'm a musical theatre major so I'll be involved in shows and have performance requirements so I don't know how well those two would mesh...

I've also just considering joining the dance team because I have more technique and training as a dancer than I do a cheerleader (dancer for 11 years) but there's something about cheer that draws me in. It's like the same adrenaline I get from performing onstage but it's also different.