High School Is It Possible To Get A Zero On Tumbling?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 5, 2011
I had a local Coach contact me and ask if it was illegal to give zeros on the score sheets for Tumbling. I am an All-Star Coach and not familiar with High School rules at all. She said they do walkovers, BHS and even a tuck and layout in their routine. We are from PA if that helps. She said on the zero tumbling score they said what she did was illegal and stated check rule 2-5-2. Which she has no idea what that is. Her routine was choreographed by a UCA staff member so she thought everything would be legal. Mind you I have not seen them compete so I have no idea what their routine looks like.

They also do a back walkover out of a stunt and was asking if that was illegal. From the High School rules I have looked at it is not as long as she is braced till her hands hit the floor, am I correct.

1: Judges shouldn't give a ZERO unless the skill was not in the routine what-so-ever. If a skill is illegal and there are issues, it is really up to the competition director, usually there are just deductions and the warnings.
2: AACCA rules allow back-walkovers out of a cradle as long as it is simply placed and not thrown into the walkover.

The only thing I can say is this: I have done routines for people and when all is said and done, they change things and then complain when they are not legal - I am not blaming your friend, just stating what I have seen. HOWEVER, before any competition, you need to be 100% familiar with the rules.

What rule structure was the competition using? I am not seeing the rule 2-5-2. I have both AACCA and NFHS pulled up.

Here is AACCA:

2011-12 School Cheerleading Rules

Here are NFHS: http://www.cheerltd.com/pdfs/11_12nfhs_rules.pdf