College What Exactly Is Collegiate Cheerleading? Which Is More? Nca Or Uca?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 29, 2010
i have this conversation with a lot of people on my team. my coach cheered for Hofstra and is a UCA instructor, so she really loves the whole UCA vibe, and for the past couple years the team (i'm a freshman) has been competing at UCA Natonals. This year we could not raise the money in time, so we have decided to go to NCA Nationals instead. The majority of the members of the team are closely tied to their High School team, so I think of them as "high school cheerleaders", even the older ones lol. there are only a few of us that did all stars, I swear it's like my coach brainwashed some of these girls into thinking that UCA is more important than NCA, and overall better, and "more collegiate" (whatever that means) in general. When I first came on the team, I had a convo with her and she had said, how the NCA schools have more tumbling (especially on the men's side), i guess, which is true, and are more flashy (duh), and more sloppy (...don't agree). also how in large coed, how they usually can't hold stunts up by themselves and they need to be assisted most of the time. also, i guess she insinuated more of the flashier males favor NCA more. Basically, I know she thinks UCA is way better than NCA, and less of a joke.

it really annoys me though, because since a lot of the people on my team, all they've ever known is high school cheer and UCA college cheer, etc., i don't know how they can make judgments on NCA and all stars when they've never really experienced it. Nor do they know much about it. Like please, hardly anyone on my team knows who Top Gun is, or Stingrays, Gymtyme, Brandon, etc. Our coach seems to look down on all stars and the like.

at a game once, she broke it down like this:

low to high order
Pop Warner
"Lower Level All Star Teams"
High School
then College...