College College Cheer Question.

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Mar 28, 2012
So I'm a sophomore in high school & we have to start thinking about where we want to go to college & narrow it down to three schools. I've already done this & knowing each university is different I have some questions.
Okay so my three schools are
-Oklahoma State
-Baylor University
-University of Arizona
With my 4th & 5th choices being;
-University of Kentucky
-University of Louisville

Now I love cheerleading & want to do it on a college level but I'm a base & back spot, I've never flown. Everyone tells me to cheer in college I have to fly. For the five universities, is it possible to not fly? Also I play soccer and love it equally as much as cheerleading so would it be possible to do both? Tips for getting on a college cheerleading level would also be appreciative.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

OSU - they have a small coed and a STUNT team, so it's possible to base or back. You'll need a standing back tuck and running full to be on the team.
Baylor - They have an all-girl team and a Acro/Tumbling team. To be on All-Girl cheer, you'll need a standing tuck and a running 3 bhs to tuck. To be on Acro/Tumbling, I don't really know for sure, but it's likely they'll want a standing back and running full.
U of A - from what I've seen, they're coed and do not compete. The girls are tiny and are basically all flyers. And you'll need a standing tuck at least. (we go to UCA camp with them, so this is just what I've seen.)
UK - Large Coed, highly competitive, best of the best in the cheer world. standing tuck and specialty running fulls are a necessity. Basically all of the girls are flyers unless you are an AMAZING tumbler.