Confused Cheer Mom - Please Help!!

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Confused Cheer Mom

Cheer Parent
Mar 27, 2011
I am a newbie, so please bear with me. I am totally new to all star cheer and want to see if it’s just me or if this is a typical scenario for all star cheer. My daughter brought home a flyer for pop Warner last spring and begged to sign up. I signed up both of my little ones (I have a grown daughter also). They enjoyed it so much that when a team member told them about all star, they really wanted to do it, so we signed up for the half year team with a bunch of kids from mostly other pop Warner programs. I asked when we signed up, that perhaps since my girls have only their one season pop Warner experience if it might be better for them to take classes for a year and then try out. I was told no, they would be teaching them new skills in their cheer practices.

The scheduled coach for this team was moved to another team when another coach left. They put an assistant coach from the previous year as head coach for my girl’s team. I knew there would be some issues when about a month into the program, someone defaced property at the gym. The gym owner spoke to our head coach. The head coach came in and yelled at the cheerleaders and actually cried tears about it in front of the team. Shortly after, they scheduled a practice not on our regular night with little notice. I spoke to the coach and said my children had another commitment and would she prefer they come late or should we just skip the practice all together. I was told come in late. When my girls did come in late, the coach made a snarky comment to my 6 year old. They were then told at the end of the month that we would be getting two new cheerleaders in a couple of weeks, one of which had lots of skills and experience.