Middle School Drama, Team Self Destructing

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Sep 9, 2012
I'm a very frusterated coach right now. I had an amazing routine choreographed (this is my first time finally coaching a team, and I'm so passionate and excited) but I have had 2 girls quit so far because they aren't flying... they are all being very selfish about this and I have tried to explain that all parts of a stunt are equally important... they aren't having it. They want to be the center of attention. It's making me so upset because I had high hopes for them as a team and this is so petty. They don't understand that this is a TEAM sport... not everyone gets the position or job they want, but all roles are crucial to our success. I'm down to only two stunt groups now. Any advice?

Don't let it get to you. I'd pull them all in and lay down the law with the entire group. Make them realize how each part plays into the entire team. If they aren't going to play nice make them condition. Every time they start drama make them do push-ups.
If they quit then honestly you're better off. It'll all work out in the end. Make sure they know you just want the best for them and then talk about continuing into HS cheer and how they will need the skills you are teaching. If possible bring the HS coach in for a day. Ours comes in a few times a year and the girls usually shape up afterwards.

I'm sorry to hear that :( I've seen a lot of girls do the same thing. But if they quit for something silly like not getting the role in the stunt they want, then they don't have the true passion for it. Keep holding on. and if u have time at practice to have a little fun, let some of the flyers do some basing, and some bases try flying, just for fun.

This is my 6th year coaching. Drama is always going to happen. Try to use it as a learning experience for them and don't take anything personal. :)

Amen Sara H.