All-Star Struggling to find a place in cheer as open-aged athlete without higher level skills

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 13, 2016
Hi! :)

Honestly not sure what I want to get out of this, but I just wanted to see if anyone has had any sort of promising experience cheering at lower levels later in life? and if not I wanted to atleast get some feelings out that have been bothering me a lot recently as I approach turning 21:
The background information is that I’m really terrible at cheerleading. Not in a I lack a bit of confidence but I’m actually okay way, but in a I’m in my 11th season and still can’t stunt or tumble level 2 way. Something about cheerleading never clicked for me- I’ve been working my back handspring with no success for about 6 years, and I’m that awkward in between backspot and base height where I’m a different position every year and have never managed to get good at anything. My jumps have never been more than an inch off the floor and I don’t have the coordination for dance. I’ve tried everything to get better- I’m in the gym 4 nights a week, I’m going to every open gym and tumbling class, I trained for a marathon to improve my fitness, I’m going to pilates classes for strength and flexibility, but it just never clicks for me. I’m trying to be honest with myself- I can’t tell I’m the weak link in every team I’ve been on, and I’m getting to a point where I don’t have anything left in me to progress- I’ve totally burnt out from trying to keep up with the abilities of everyone around me.