Switch Leg Back Walkover?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

rdavis4

Cheer Parent
Oct 12, 2015
Total newbie question here....my CP came home tonight and told me her coaches had her switch her leg in the air in her bwo during her tumbling pass. She showed me, and I've seen several of the youth 1s doing this. I always thought it was a mistake lol because I don't think it looks as pretty. But she was excited because she was the only one out of the 3 they asked to be able to do it and according to her, it's worth more points. Truth to this? What's the benefit of doing it this way vs. the other?

When I was on level 1 our coaches only made us do the leg we started on. I don't believe it's worth more points but I could be wrong.

If done correctly, it can increase the tumbling difficulty score. But having one kid on the team do it while everyone else does regular BWO will likely not affect the score at all.

If done correctly, it can increase the tumbling difficulty score. But having one kid on the team do it while everyone else does regular BWO will likely not affect the score at all.
I'm thinking the hope is at this point to start teaching them all? It's a tiny team, so I'm guessing they would like to eventually have them all doing it by next year for mini? It seems the majority of the youth team does it that way. Thanks for the info; I had no idea it was harder!

Total newbie question here....my CP came home tonight and told me her coaches had her switch her leg in the air in her bwo during her tumbling pass. She showed me, and I've seen several of the youth 1s doing this. I always thought it was a mistake lol because I don't think it looks as pretty. But she was excited because she was the only one out of the 3 they asked to be able to do it and according to her, it's worth more points. Truth to this? What's the benefit of doing it this way vs. the other?