My Opinion On Mental Blocks

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Apr 3, 2012
So I am not a professional on mental blocks but I have had a few lately and was able to overcome them. I wanted to share my thoughts on how to overcome them and what they are. When I ever had a mental block before, I noticed that right before i would go to throw, my heart would start to race and i would close my eyes right before the take off. With closing my eyes, i would not be able to know where i was in the air and would lose my confidence. My theory is that when people have mental blocks, its because their eyes are closed which seems really silly! but if you think about it, your brain is such a complex system. when your eyes are closed, you have no idea where you are. Your brain doesn't know what its doing. so it will try to stop you instead of "getting lost". This creates the swing and stop. If you can imangine it, you can do it. With me, when i would try to throw a skill i had a mental block on, i wouldnt be able to imangine it. i would try soo hard but it felt mentally impossible.