My Parents Won't Support My Cheering

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

May 8, 2016
I've been doing Allstar Cheer for 8 years now and it has become my life. I suffer from a mental disorder and cheer really helps getting along with it. I realized tis when I had to take a break for one season cause of knee injury. During this year I ended up becoming more and more depressive. When I started again that next season, I started feeling a lot better again. It really helps so much and I must say that Cheerleading sort of saved my life. But my dad doesn't understand this and now he wants to make me quit cheer. He says it's to expensive, because I have to travel quite far to go to practice at all. There is no other option anywhere near me and I don't really have time for a job with school AND cheer. Please help, how can I make my father understand, I really don't want to quit cheer...he says it's just some stupid hobby and I need to grow up and stop just wanting to have fun.

I've been doing Allstar Cheer for 8 years now and it has become my life. I suffer from a mental disorder and cheer really helps getting along with it. I realized tis when I had to take a break for one season cause of knee injury. During this year I ended up becoming more and more depressive. When I started again that next season, I started feeling a lot better again. It really helps so much and I must say that Cheerleading sort of saved my life. But my dad doesn't understand this and now he wants to make me quit cheer. He says it's to expensive, because I have to travel quite far to go to practice at all. There is no other option anywhere near me and I don't really have time for a job with school AND cheer. Please help, how can I make my father understand, I really don't want to quit cheer...he says it's just some stupid hobby and I need to grow up and stop just wanting to have fun.