High School Requirements For Hs Coaches

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

This has become a concern for me. My cp will be 9th grader next year and wants to cheer in HS and the cheer coach for the HS she will be attending, is the HS Art teacher. This season a girl got seriously hurt during practice tumbling (shattered her elbow, she is done for the season). I just checked to see if her or the JV coach were AACCA certified and of course they are not. At HS districts last month they ended in last place due to an illegal pyramid hmmm.
I would discuss with your daughter the safety issue, maybe that will change her mind. I would not want to risk my daughter getting hurt, as you stated! I would also write a letter to the school system informing them of your opinions and what a proper coach needs.

I am a high school cheerleading coach. I'm not a teacher, so this is what that means for me. I have to spend a few hundred dollars to take a class to become what my state considers a certified coach, at then end of that class all the coaches pay to take a few tests, after you pass them, you can coach. Now, in order for me to get hired by my board of education no teacher can want the job. Every year my job comes up for bid, if a teacher doesn't want it, then I get my job back. But, if a teacher decides "Hey, I think I'd like to be a cheer coach" boom it's their job over me. Teachers do not have to go through the "how to coach" class or the "this is our states rules" class. I was not only a middle school, high school, all star (level 4), college cheerleader and on an open squad till I had babies. I also taught tumbling in college, hold a few certifications more than required and after my kids, I live and breath cheer. From what I am told, before I started the seniors were basically the coaches, they were using techniques that were way out of date and the squad would pick who's best at doing what. It's been a hard transition but we are com