All-Star Rule/rubric Changes Hindering Athletes Progression

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Nov 19, 2015
Im not sure if there is another thread I can refer to to post this question/concern but this is something that has been sitting on my mind for quite some time now and i'm curious to hear others opinions and thoughts!

Often times as a coach, I find myself feeling guilty for the removal of an athlete/group when skills that are performed aren't clean enough for the main stage. I, along with the other coaches, get the typical question from parents asking why the child was removed from a certain section and to which i explain that the skill(s) they're performing aren't being executed and i try to help them understand that it will give the athlete more breathing time and energy for their other sections to perform. I then justify myself that we can sacrifice a few athletes for numbers sake and still be in the desired range while saving execution/technique scores.

I found myself looking back at previous years in cheerleading and miss seeing all these kids doing jumps (and they werent terrible either), putting up max number of stunts/baskets, and tumbling passes. Those athletes that may be struggling in a certain section really had no choice but to progress and work their skills because they HAD to do it for the score sheet. There were no room for sacrifices. Which then progressed them later down the road moving up in the level system in which the section they struggled with the most, wasn't as hard as before because they were in that section previously and worked every practice to improve.

There is then provided the option for the removed athletes to come to open gyms, privates, clinics, ect. to work on their skills, but there are parents who honestly can barely afford the monthly tuition already or live too far away and aren't willing or able to come to the gym for only an hour.