Back Handspring Help

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Nov 3, 2010
So I'm having a problem with my bhs, AGAIN. I have it. I know I do, my tumble coach knows I do, and a month ago I was doing it all by myself without even worrying, it's just something in my mind is still telling me I can't do it. I just got back from my private and I feel like I'm getting worse every week. I got in the car and just broke down crying because I'm beyond over this disappointment every week. It's the sit that gets me freaking out. I don't know but sitting and jumping back reaching for the floor freaks me out when I don't have my coach there. I've tried to pretend he's there, singing a song, deep breathing, focusing, but it just feels awkward. I'm doing all of the drills right, but when I step on the mat, it's like I've never done a back handspring before. What do I do to get over this?

I have basically the exact same problem! It's VERY frustrating I know :confused: It's like I just want this back handspring sooo bad, and the only thing stopping me is being scared. I've done it before, but now I just...can't. The sitting and jumping back is what scares me too. Maybe someone can help both of us! lol

I have basically the exact same problem! It's VERY frustrating I know :confused: It's like I just want this back handspring sooo bad, and the only thing stopping me is being scared. I've done it before, but now I just...can't. The sitting and jumping back is what scares me too. Maybe someone can help both of us! lol

OMG you do not know how happy you made me with this post! This past month I've felt so alone on this and it's been killing me. I just want it so bad and I literally stress over it. It's driving me crazy.

OMG you do not know how happy you made me with this post! This past month I've felt so alone on this and it's been killing me. I just want it so bad and I literally stress over it. It's driving me crazy.