High School Competing A Team For The First Time...ideas?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

cupieqt

Person everyone wants to meet this season
Jan 24, 2011
I'm about to put together a routine for the high school team I've been coaching for the last 3 years. I'm an all-star coach and I have never competed a high school team. I need some ideas for this group but I'm not sure where to begin. Any suggestions--videos, cheer, stunts?

I am in the same boat as you!! I never realized how different the two are, and I was both a high school and all star cheerleader! I am afraid all of our routines will be too all starish and that will reflect on our score sheets!

I coach both and what I do is I make my routine have that sharp look that all star has but with more classic skills as in stunting and jump sequences. The only thing that I make kind of closer to all stars is my dance just because high school dances seem too boring too me sometimes. I also have my stunts and arm motions as well as the words of my cheer reflect the theme their music.

I coach both and what I do is I make my routine have that sharp look that all star has but with more classic skills as in stunting and jump sequences. The only thing that I make kind of closer to all stars is my dance just because high school dances seem too boring too me sometimes. I also have my stunts and arm motions as well as the words of my cheer reflect the theme their music.
This sounds like just the jumping off point I need! The sponsor of the team loved my sr 3 routine from last year and said she wanted something like that. I know it's too "all-star" (plus I don't want to recycle a whole routine) but now I think I could use it as a basis and just plug in the school cheer elements in certain areas.
Speaking of levels though, what is legal and illegal? I need a rule book!