Delusional Parent Disorder In Youth Sports

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jan 21, 2015
Click For Full Article

Definition of Delusional Parent Disorder: Parents who have false or unrealistic beliefs or opinions about their children even when confronted with facts: “Watching Barb yell at her daughter after practice makes me think she suffers from Delusional Parent Disorder.”

I am not a psychologist. To my knowledge, there is no confirmed condition called Delusional Parent Disorder (“DPD”). I’m just a coach, but coaching all star cheerleading makes me sometimes wish I had a degree in psychology! It would certainly help me to understand the thought process of some of the 2,000 parents who have kids in our programs. Most of the parents in our programs are amazing and only suffer from a mild form of DPD, but there are always those extreme cases. You know that dad or that mom. While the name of the disorder is simply made up, it is a real problem, especially when Delusional Parent Disorder creeps into parenting a young athlete.

It does seem that there is something in our genetic makeup that makes parents feel that their children are always better than they actually are. They can’t help it and I will probably feel that way about my own children. These are all thoughts from parents: “My children are the prettiest, smartest and of course, the best athletes.” “My daughter is great at gymnastics, my son is an outstanding runner, and my two youngest daughters are the best cheerleaders.” Most parents just cant help it.