High School Legal In High School Pyramid?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members can REMOVE the ads for FREE... join today!

Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
47
Reaction score
71
Hello! Just a legality question here. I recently saw an opposing team do this stunt at a football game and was wondering if it was in fact legal.

They had a girl jump in to a normal half/prep, they had a girl stand directly in front of the flyer and grab her hands. The bases dipped and the flyer flipped over the young lady in front of her and landed in a cradle with 2 catchers.

These young ladies did it very gracefully and I was wondering if this is something my girls could do. Just want to make sure I'm not breaking any rules before I do :)

Thanks all for your help!
 
Hello! Just a legality question here. I recently saw an opposing team do this stunt at a football game and was wondering if it was in fact legal.

They had a girl jump in to a normal half/prep, they had a girl stand directly in front of the flyer and grab her hands. The bases dipped and the flyer flipped over the young lady in front of her and landed in a cradle with 2 catchers.

These young ladies did it very gracefully and I was wondering if this is something my girls could do. Just want to make sure I'm not breaking any rules before I do :)

Thanks all for your help!

There are lots of sets of high school rules so you'll probably have to give an indication of which set is used to get and accurate answer.
 
We did this last season except to be sure it was legal, I used 2 posts that locked out arms so there were no question vs one post over head. Since last year rules have changed and I did not look into this specific one yet.
 
According to NFHS. You cannot flip over a post. (please correct me if I am wrong) You can have a front post and leap frog over into a cradle catch and you can even have your back spot be a post and do a front flip from a load position into a cradle catch by the same bases, but as far as I can tell, you cannot flip over another person.
 
We did the same stunt, but our "post" was in a (what we call squish) or load in position ( or thigh stand). Our competitive coach said this was legal, but we may follow a different set of rules.


We are the best, of silver black and blue. Cowboys
 
Back