What Did I Get Myself Into...

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Oct 10, 2014
Hi! I am in my second year of college, and upon arrival from the summer found out that my school had started a cheer squad. Apparently if you are a guy with previous cheer experience, the girls seek you out pretty quick and next thing you know you are being asked to go toss-to-hands on the first practice. Unfortunately, I have no idea what I am doing. I haven't had to lift competitively since high school and have taken it easy on the side of lifting weights rather than pushing my body. I find myself trying to scramble and put together a workout regiment for the week, working around our practices, and trying to find any and all information on coed stunting that I can. I would seriously love any help on how to improve strength wise so I can get my flyer up high enough on the toss and be able to extend her.
Thanks!

Sure! @backAgain it sounds like scheduling and structure are what you are having the most issues with?

What are your plans for the years?

This year is the first year our university has a squad, and we are only cheering at our guys basketball home games. We have practice twice a week to straighten out chants, cheers, and stunts. The secret hope, that I believe most of us have, is that we could get good enough to compete at some level. My goal is that by the end of the season, my flyer and I are able to pull off stunts together and hopefully have some sense of tumbling. I just don't know what I need to be doing to improve other than hitting the gym, conditioning, and putting in extra stunt practice.