All-Star Injury Question

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Is she a base or flyer? CAN she stunt and/or tumble? They make a soft brace that is allowed. My Cp wore one at Summit whole recovering from an injury.

**Not intended to be medical advice.

As a coach I would say - if it was bad enough to put a boot on it, she likely should sit-out the competition.

BUT we all know how head strong athletes can be, and how sitting out just might not be in their vocabulary. If she is insistent on competing & parents/ coaches are in support, I would say modify so she does definitely NO tumbling, and get her one of those lace-up braces with velcro (also dependent on the type of sprain...) and have her strictly stunt. Limited to no practicing outside practice gym and competition floor.

But like I originally said - and most would probably agree with. Just have her sit out. There will be other summits. Other cheer competitions, no need to risk life-long damage. Just my $0.02

If she is allowed to walk on it with a soft brace, I don't see where basing would be a risk. If she has to be in a boot at all times, that is another story.

If she is allowed to walk on it with a soft brace, I don't see where basing would be a risk. If she has to be in a boot at all times, that is another story.
Yes, this. My Cp was cleared by the dr to base and dance (no tumbling, no jumping.) Definitely check with the dr!

**Not intended to be medical advice.

As a coach I would say - if it was bad enough to put a boot on it, she likely should sit-out the competition.