OT Kindle Instead Of Texbooks?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Off Topic
Mar 25, 2010
hey ya'll

so one of my friends told me today she is getting a kindle instead of buying all her textbooks for school. anyone else doing this? i think it's a brilliant idea. obviously you'd have to check and see if they have all your books and what not, but i feel like this would save alot of money, and pain from carry hardbooks around lol
i contemplated it, but i looked it up and the only downside is you can only rent them, and i'll need to keep all my textbooks because of my major.
anyone know if the ipad has something like this? (i'm not very tech savvy!)
which do ya'll prefer, kindle or ipad? (i may end up investing in one regardless lol)

peace, love, and happy cheering

showstopper

my question is how reliable are they in having the text books needed? i'm also looking into it, but i don't want to blow 500 bucks on an ipad if they only have one of my text books.

Nooooo. I like to highlight, annotate and have my textbooks lying around so I can cross check them when writing/researching essays. Can't think of anything worse than having to keep reloading different books to find a section I vaguely remembered and want to reference. I always print out online readings too. I know I'm killing the planet but then again I figure I'm saving it by not using tp ;)

I'm an English major and I did this last year for one of my classes. It was a novel class, so instead of making us buy 15+ novels, the school provided us with Kindles that had all of the books already uploaded.

It was a love/hate relationship. You can highlight and bookmark, but not efficiently. It was nice to be able to throw my Kindle in my purse and read for school wherever though. I also saved probably $200 by not buying the books.