College How Tall Is Too Tall For A Coed Flyer?

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Jul 24, 2014
I'm about 5'5" -5'6", and I'm currently a high school sophomore. I've always flown and I've always been the best flyer, but I'm by far the tallest flyer on our team. The second tallest girl is about 5'2", and the third only 5'0". I haven't flown this year though, due to a few torn ligaments in my left knee. I doubt I'll be able to fly next year because of tiny incoming freshmen. I really really want to cheer in college (Baylor or Mississippi State), but am I too tall to fly? I know I'm a good flyer, I've been doing it for school and competitive teams since I was a little kid. But am I just too tall to do it any longer?!? I'm more of a coed stunter, but I'd be willing to cheer coed or all girl.

Your best bet for this question is to contact the coach directly and express interest in the program and go from there. Some colleges have 'restrictions' or 'ideals' and it will vary by school.

If you are a strong flyer and can also base height may be irrelevant.

Your best bet for this question is to contact the coach directly and express interest in the program and go from there. Some colleges have 'restrictions' or 'ideals' and it will vary by school.

See, I'm a terrible base. All I'm really good at is flying, and its what I love to do. The fact is, if I can't fly, then I don't really want to cheer in college

"Too tall" also depends on the talent pool too.

Example: 5'6 might be tall if every other flyer in the room is 4'11.

If there's a variety of heights, it's not as big of a factor.

See also: Flying high school and college coed are 2 different skill sets.

If we're talking all girl programs, the advantage often lies with girls who can do more than just fly.

I'm 5'5 and I fly on my co-ed college team. I based all throughout high school.