OT Sports Medicine Major

Welcome to our Cheerleading Community

Members see FEWER ads... join today!

Off Topic
Jun 25, 2013
I wasn't sure where to put this. I'm looking for a college in the us where I can major in sports medicine (not physical therapy) I have not Been able to find one yet, but then again I haven't really searched that hard.

The Fierce Board App! || iPhone || Android || Upgrade Your Account!

I don't think you can just major in sports medicine. To practice sports med here you have to go to undergrad, then medical school, then do an orthopedic residency, then a sports medicine residency. You could look at athletic training or PT or if you do want to go to med school then I'd recommend biology or biochem as an undergrad major

The Fierce Board App!

I don't know wher you are from but we might call it something different here in the u.s. You can look up kinesiology

Definitely look into kinesiology. I'm a freshman majoring in it and it's "the study of how the body moves." I am going more in the physical therapy direction, but I also have a "pre-med co-major", something I think is unique to my school? (don't quote me on that). Just in case I do decide to go to med school. However, I do know of many kids in my major who plan to go to med school for sports medicine. You could also be a biology, microbiology, chem major. It really doesn't matter what your undergrad major is. You could be a journalism major and still go to med school as long as you meet the requirements and have the GPA and MCAT scores for it.

Sports Medicine is not a major; it is a fellowship that MD's can apply and train for. Typically Sports Medicine fellowships are offered through Family Medicine departments at medical schools, but not always. A typical path and timeline would be...

Undergrad (4yrs) Med School (4yrs) Residency (4/5yrs) Fellowship (1yr).